Posted By: Strutz
Date: 2011-10-19 20:29:08

CKA Uber
CKA Uber
 Montreal Canadiens
PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 11:40 pm

This won't help the tourism industry.

Well done unions.. yay

And remember, these measures aren't going to fix their problems, but only to slow them down.

Forum Super Elite
Forum Super Elite

GROUP_AVATAR
PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 11:42 pm

Is it possible for us to eject the residents of a European nation and just start anew?

CKA Uber
CKA Uber

GROUP_AVATAR
PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2011 11:58 pm

The Greeks would sooner fight to the bitter end, rather than accept a northern European work ethic

Forum Super Elite
Forum Super Elite

GROUP_AVATAR
PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2011 12:03 am

We'll just ship them all the Crete. Give Greece to people that are actually willing to work for a living instead of trying to bring down all Europe around them.

Forum Addict
Forum Addict
PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2011 10:55 am

I’m far from an expert on international affairs or banking practices, but everyone here seems to be missing the root of the problem. It’s not that Greeks didn’t’ have a work ethic, or that they want more social programs than they pay for…

Their government followed their own strict laws and invested hundreds of billions of public money in the only place they were legally allowed to, AAA graded guaranteed securities WITH insurance in the “1 in a million” shot they actually failed (AIG ring a bell?). They chose GUARANTEED investments with low yields over risky ones with higher yields… and the banks literally defrauded them by KNOWINGLY selling them garbage investments, then defaulting on the insurance because they were bankrupt.

Now these very same banks are the ones that want all that money back from the country they defrauded, and to “help” them through it, they continually raise their interest rates to levels usually only seen in 3rd world nations making the payback of that money near impossible.