Canadian Reviews

Product: Vegemite Review


Vegemite... what can I say about this ultra revolting Australian icon, for any of you who have ever eaten this "thing" or even smelled its vomitous innards you would have some clue to what I am talking about, to the rest of you .... you are very fortunate. Throughout my wanders of Australia these past 6 months I have yet to find a single household that does'nt have a jar of this black pasty yeast extract. I wonder to myself why its just me the lone canadian who does'nt like the taste of this shit. Now if you havent tasted Vegemite (consider yourself lucky, I must stress this) its taste is very salty and raw , I would assume its quite similar in taste to the licking of a yeasty salt water fishes sweaty balls(not that I would know anything about that). I have pondered the possibility that perhaps the Australians have a completly different set of taste buds to the rest of the world (hey, they don't like root beer... do I have to say more mmmmmmm). So I heed this post as a warning to any person who plans to travel to Australia or comes in contact with any Vegemite or Marmite or any product with "-mite" or that even rhymes with the sound "ite", stay clear because my friend you are entering a world of danger and pain. So on conclusion I am forced to give a numerical score of this product and because they have no Zero score i will give it its half star on merit that it was partially invented by a Canadian (kraft). oh and just a friendly reminder, upon seeing a jar of Vegemite quickly pour large quantities of a flammable substance on top and set alight and stay clear, fumes are highly toxic.

  

Share on Facebook
Added: June 21st 2001
Reviewer Mathew Lothian
Related Link: Vegemite homepage
Hits: 13381
Score:

Register to comment and rate.


  1. Posted by fgpaige
    2008-08-22 21:31:02
    my score:
    I''m Aussie, and seriously, sometimes i''ll eat it straight out of the jar it''s so good. Yeh, it''s salty and raw, and delicious!!! Best toast ever, great on crackers. And strange but true, lettuce and vegemite makes a fantastic sandwhich as the lettuce is refreshing against the saltyness. =)
  2. Posted by Anonymous
    2005-11-22 01:42:54
    my score:
    nice
  3. Posted by Anonymous
    2005-06-11 04:41:35
    my score:
    Vegemite Rules!
    I''m australian but my parents are canadian - my dad love it, but my mum hates it. My girlfriend is canadian and she hates it too. And yes you can get it in some supermarkets in canada, but only in small jars. It''s about $4 too, which is kind of expensive for such a tiny jar. You can also find Marmite here too, also in small jars only.
  4. Posted by Anonymous
    2005-05-04 07:16:28
    my score:
    Marmite in the UK predates Vegemite''s 1922 birth but as always good old Blighty is dismissed by the colonials. I actually prefer vegemite but am pointing out the historical facts. I''m sure we had apple pie in England long before we colonized the America too!
  5. Posted by Anonymous
    2004-12-09 21:51:02
    my score:

    ask any aussie and they will tell you that it is an effective way to ward off a hangover.


    here''s how it works...you go out for ''a night on the piss'' (that''s aussie for a night of drinking)  when you get home you have a couple of pieces of toast with vegemite on them (pretty simple eh so far )


    then you have to drink so much water to get the taste out of your mouth that you rehydrate - no hangover!


     


    posted by backspin ( http://www.ianbacks.com )

  6. Posted by Anonymous
    2004-10-30 06:59:39
    my score:
    hey im a canadian and parents are kiwis. vegemite is sooo good. to hell with all the others
  7. Posted by Anonymous
    2004-10-04 22:03:36
    my score:
    VEGEMITE KICKS ASS :P BETTER THAT DRINKING MAPLE SYRIP OR WHAT EVER YOU CRAZY CANADIANS DO :P DOES ANYONE KNOW IF THEY SELL VEGEMITE IN CANADA? I HAVE A FRIEND THERE THAT WANTS TO TRY IT
  8. Posted by Anonymous
    2004-10-02 00:05:07
    my score:
    As a Canadian in Australia, I was also skeptical of vegemite to begin with. My first impression of vegemite was that it looked and smelled like the goo that might result from packing compost into an old sock and fermenting it in brine. I couldn''t have been more WRONG though. After trying it on warm buttered toast, I realized how good the magical goo really is. Vegemite is part of my breakfast every morning now. And cheesemite scrolls are great too. Just don''t put huge gobs of vegemite on your toast or whatever else it''s going on.
  9. Posted by Anonymous
    2004-10-01 19:40:52
    my score:
    As a Canadian in Australia, I was also skeptical of vegemite to begin with. My first impression of vegemite was that it looked and smelled like the goo that might result from packing compost into and old sock and fermenting it in brine. I couldn''t have been more WRONG though. After trying it on warm buttered toast, I realized that how good the magical goo really is. Vegemite is part of my breakfast every morning now. And cheesemite scrolls are great too. Just don''t put huge gobs of vegemite on your toast or whatever else it''s going on.
  10. Posted by Anonymous
    2004-10-01 19:40:37
    my score:
    As a Canadian in Australia, I was also skeptical of vegemite to begin with. My first impression of vegemite was that it looked and smelled like the goo that might result from packing compost into and old sock and fermenting it in brine. I couldn''t have been more WRONG though. After trying it on warm buttered toast, I realized that how good the magical goo really is. Vegemite is part of my breakfast every morning now. And cheesemite scrolls are great too. Just don''t put huge gobs of vegemite on your toast or whatever else it''s going on.
  11. Posted by Anonymous
    2004-02-23 21:34:00
    my score:
    I have to say that over the past year spent in Australia I''ve grown quite fond of Vegemite. I think I''m the only Canadian that actually likes it. Did someone mention cheesymite scroll? Yummy!

    When I first tasted it I though...ew! What are these crazy Aussies thinking, but after having it a few more times I can''t get enough of the stuff.

    Give it a chance...you''d be surprised how good it tastes after a few goes.
  12. Posted by Anonymous
    2004-02-23 21:33:00
    my score:
    I have to say that over the past year spent in Australia I''ve grown quite fond of Vegemite. I think I''m the only Canadian that actually likes it. Did someone mention cheesymite scroll? Yummy!

    When I first tasted it I though...ew! What are these crazy Aussies thinking, but after having it a few more times I can''t get enough of the stuff.

    Give it a chance...you''d be surprised how good it tastes after a few goes.
  13. Posted by Anonymous
    2003-09-11 16:03:37
    my score:
    You''re the same as my boyfriend! He''s Canadian and when I gave him some, his face contorted into a look of pain. Apart from my step mum (american) I dont know any foreinger who likes it. You just gotta grow up with the stuff or you dont develop a taste for it! ... Incidentally, root beer sucks :P

    Heres a useless trivial fact for ya. Vegemite is renowned for its high level of vitamins and minerals. In fact during WW2 they took a lot of it off the market and sent it up with the troops.
    Heres an extract from the advertisment:
    “Vegemite fights with the men up north! If you are one of those who don’t need Vegemite medicinally, then thousands of invalids are asking you to deny yourself of it for the time being.”
  14. Posted by Anonymous
    2003-07-19 07:32:40
    my score:
    Quite understandable that you didn''t enjoy vegemite.
    you just can''t handle it, You have to be able to master the art of preparing vegemite toast others are a huge fan of the stuff, and put on just perfectly, it makes the greatest toast ever!
    does the word cheesymite scroll mean anything to you? no? then you have no life.
  15. Posted by Anonymous
    2003-05-13 16:40:37
    my score:
    mate you have to be born an Aussie to appreciate this black gold - a tiny spread on buttered toast after a hangover is just perfect!

    but i warn you only Aussies can tolerate this ''stuff'' I''ve yet to meet a non-Aussie who can ''take'' it''s taste
[ Reviews Index ]

Reviews Comments

  • Soloist
    POGO GAMES SUPPORT @ 1 855 721 7211 Pogo1 855 721 7211com is a free online gaming website that ...
    By
  • X-Me Origins: Wolverine
    POGO GAMES SUPPORT @ 1 855 721 7211 Pogo1 855 721 7211com is a free online gaming website that ...
    By
  • Star Trek
    POGO GAMES SUPPORT @ 1 855 721 7211 Pogo1 855 721 7211com is a free online gaming website that ...
    By
  • Bachman Cummings
    POGO GAMES SUPPORT @ 1 855 721 7211 Pogo1 855 721 7211com is a free online gaming website that ...
    By
  • The Martyr's Oath: The Apprenticeship of
    POGO GAMES SUPPORT @ 1 855 721 7211 Pogo1 855 721 7211com is a free online gaming website that ...
    By
reviews

Latest Topics in Canadian Forums


Advertise