Famous Canadians

Shania Twain Biography

Famous Canadian Categories:
Behind The Camera | Canvas & print | Military | Models | Movies | Music | Political | Porn | Other |
Science & Technology | Sports | TV | Writers | the big list

Shania Twain

Birthdate:   August 28, 1965
Website: http://www.shaniatwain.com
Category: Music

Country singer, songwriter. Born Eileen Edwards, on August 28, 1965, in Windsor, Ontario, Canada. She was raised in the small mining town of Timmins, Ontario, by her mother, Sharon, and stepfather, an Ojibway Indian named Gerald Twain. (She later changed her name from Eileen to “Shania”; an Ojibway word meaning “I'm on my way.”) Twain was already singing and writing songs by age 10; as a teenager, she performed on Canadian television. In 1987, her mother and stepfather were tragically killed in a car accident, leaving Twain to care for her three younger siblings.

After several years spent earning money by singing at a local resort, Twain went to Nashville in 1993. She immediately signed with Mercury Records and released her self-titled debut album. That same year, Twain married South African music producer Robert “Mutt” Lange, who was known for his work with the heavy metal bands AC/DC, Def Leppard, and Foreigner. With the help of Lange, Twain released The Woman in Me in 1995, which sold 12 million copies, becoming the bestselling country album by a female artist in history. The album, which yielded the hit songs “Whose Bed Have Your Boots Been Under?” “Any Man of Mine,” and “(If You're Not in It for Love) I'm Outta Here!” earned Twain a Grammy Award for Best Country Album.

In 1997, Twain released her third album, Come On Over, which contained eight hit singles, including “You're Still the One,” "Love Gets Me Everytime," "That Don't Impress Me Much," “Honey, I'm Home," "From this Moment On,” and "You've Got a Way." Certified by the Recording Institute Association of America (RIAA) for sales of 17 million copies, Come On Over holds the notable distinction of being the bestselling country album of all time.

Twain's combination of a powerful voice and sexy image has made her one of the most popular singers in both country and pop music. Her popularity opened the door for such female country crossover acts as Faith Hill and LeAnn Rimes. In the late 1990s, Twain signed a reported $3 million contract with Revlon cosmetics to endorse their products. In 1999, she released a fourth album, On the Way. Twain also re-recorded the single “You’ve Got a Way” for the motion picture soundtrack Notting Hill (1999).

Currently, Twain and Lange spend most of their time at their nineteenth-century estate in Tour-de-Peliz, Switzerland. In August 2001, they welcomed their first child, a son named Eja (pronounced "Asia").





Released: November 19, 2002


01. Up!
02. I'm Gonna Getcha Good!
03. She's Not Just A Pretty Face
04. Juanita
05. Forever And For Always
06. Ain't No Particular Way
07. It Only Hurts When I'm Breathing
08. Nah!
09. (Wanna Get To Know You) That Good!
10. C'est La Vie
11. I'm Jealous
12. Ka-Ching!
13. Thank You Baby! (For Makin' Someday Come So Soon)
14. Waiter! Bring Me Water!
15. What A Way To Wanna Be!
16. I Ain't Goin' Down
17. I'm Not In The Mood (To Say No!)
18. In My Car (I'll Be The Driver)
19. When You Kiss Me

Come On Over

Come On Over

Released: November 4, 1997

01. Man! I Feel Like A Woman
02. I'm Holdin' On To Love (To Save My Life)
03. Love Gets Me Every Time
04. Don't Be Stupid (You Know I Love You)
05. From This Moment On
06. Come On Over
07. When
08. Whatever You Do! Don't!
09. If You Wanna Touch Her, Ask!
10. You're Still The One
11. Honey, I'm Home
12. That Don't Impress Me Much
13. Black Eyes, Blue Tears
14. I Won't Leave You Lonely
15. Rock This Country!
16. You've Got A Way

The Woman In Me

The Woman In Me

Released: February 7, 1995

01. Home Ain't Where His Heart Is (Anymore)
02. Any Man Of Mine
03. Whose Bed Have Your Boots Been Under?
04. (If You're Not In It For Love) I'm Outta Here!
05. The Woman In Me (Needs The Man In You)
06. Is There Life After Love?
07. If It Don't Take Two
08. You Win My Love
09. Raining On Our Love
10. Leaving Is The Only Way Out
11. No One Needs To Know
12. God Bless The Child

Shania Twain

Shania Twain

Released: April 20, 1993

01. What Made You Say That
02. You Lay A Whole Lot Of Love On Me
03. Dance With The One That Brought You
04. Still Under The Weather
05. God Ain't Gonna Getcha For That
06. Got A Hold On Me
07. There Goes The Neighborhood
08. Forget Me
09. When He Leaves You
10. Crime Of The Century

Share on Facebook

Last updated: 16-12-13      Hits: 11092